We are going to Homeschool! (partially only la)

The Hubs used to tell me, “In Diablo, you need to look for items with the trifecta – critical hit chance, increased attack speed, critical hit damage.”  To translate to English, basically the weapon must hit fast, hit hard and have high probability of hitting even harder.  I also have my trifecta (quadfecta, in fact) when it comes to looking for a preschool – convenience, curriculum, teachers and price.  Depending on what is more important to you, if you can find a preschool that fulfils 3 out of 4 of these criteria, you should fasterly put your name on that waitlist! It’s so hard to find one that meets so many criteria.

That being said, I must say I did find one which meets the trifecta!!  Convenience – It is within 5 minutes walk from my house!  Curriculum – it’s a mixed-age Montessori school which incorporates theme-based learning.  Teachers – So awesome!  K’s teacher even told me, “Don’t let her wear diapers anymore! I want to toilet train her!”  YES!  THANK YOU!!  Price-wise, it’s not the cheapest but it really isn’t tooo bad considering it is a private set-up.  Check out First Bridge Learning.  *This is not a paid advert.*

BUT after mulling about it for a long time, I’ve decided to pull her out of school 2 days a week starting next term.  Dun dun dun dun…. Why?  Why why???  I don’t know.  I must be mad.  But each time I go back to the why question, I always come back to the same conclusion: I want to.  I want to make good memories with her in her formative years, not just have memories of me forcing her meals, bathing, napping (though those small things are important too).  I want to teach her stuff.  I want her to be my only student.  I want to have the time and space to impart godly values.  I know that If I don’t try this out now, the opportunity costs will just get higher as she gets older and I’ll be more and more chicken to do it.

 Kyra concentrating on Montessori material
I realized I want to see scenes like this everyday! 

With 2 days a week with her, we can afford to take things a little slower, sign up for dance classes, cook, bake, craft, make her do housework alongside me, go to the playground, learn more from the outdoors – endless possibilities!  But I’m also scared that she’ll miss out by not going to school everyday like the other kids, that she’ll not have stable friendships, that I’ll fritter the time away and let her watch Dora all day… But right now, the excitement outweighs the fears.  So.  Lets do it!!!

We’re going to try this arrangement for half a year.  Back to the Diablo trifecta analogy: I’m hoping that I’ll be able to do it the Singaporean kiasu way – faster, cheaper, better – learn faster, learn more/deeper, in a cheaper way.  Actually, strike that out.  Even if I can’t, it doesn’t matter.  What’s important is that we’re in this process together.  Learning shouldn’t be a competition of faster or better.

Wish me luck!  Better still, pray for me for fearlessness, a sound mind and self-control.  Ohh… lots of self-control.  If I haven’t gone insane, I’ll share about my experiences at home with the K & Z!  Stay tuned!


The wise-looking Prof K who has still has chocolate smudges at the side of her mouth! 

Leave a Reply

